Washington Paid Family Leave Collective Bargaining Agreement

The following regulation contains the minimum legal requirements for paid sick leave. This type of leave is available to all employees whose employer provides paid leave, whether due to a policy or a collective agreement. An employee who does not have paid leave available cannot take leave under the Family Care Act. For more information, see the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries` Family Care Act page. Although not required by state law, many jurisdictions have adopted common vacation policies as city or county ordinances or guidelines. Shared leave programs allow employees to give their accumulated leave or sick leave to another employee who is suffering from a serious illness, injury or physical or mental condition, or who has a family member who caused the worker or who is likely to induce the worker to take leave without pay or to terminate the employment relationship. Federal and state leave laws require local government authorities to provide family and medical leave as well as military leave to their employees. To ensure that your local government agency`s personnel leave guidelines comply with federal and state requirements, see the following pages: RCW 49.12.460 provides that a volunteer firefighter or police officer cannot be fired or disciplined for taking leave related to a fire alarm or emergency call. PfMLA allows employees to take up to 12 weeks (or up to 18 weeks if certain circumstances apply) of leave for their own health condition, care for immediate family members, the birth or placement of a child, or certain military events. Workers must be reinstated on return from leave if the employer employs more than 50 workers; if they have worked for the employer for more than 12 months; and if they have worked at least 1250 hours for the employer in the last 12 months. .

. .